2nd Robotics Roadmap for Australia: workshops kicking-off around the country

February 11th, 2020

The second edition of the Robotics Roadmap for Australia is about to kick-off with several workshops planned around the country, starting later this month.

Led by Dr Sue Keay, this is an extension of the first Robotics Roadmap for Australia during her work at the Australian Centre for Robotics Vision, at QUT.

Now a Research Director for CSIRO’s Data61 Cyber-Physical Systems research program, Dr Keay continues to lead industry and research partnerships to help Australia harness the benefits of the robot economy.

Building on Australia’s strengths in robot talent and technologies in niche application areas, the roadmap acts as a guide to how Australia can support a vibrant robotics industry that supports automation across all sectors of the economy.

Date Sector Co-Chairs
Tues 25 February Resources Paul Lucey (Project 412), Lauren Stafford (Woodside Energy), Lina Velosa (Nexxis), Thierry Peynot (QUT). 

Tues 10th March Healthcare Ajay Pandey (QUT), Dimity Dornan (Bionics Queensland), Robyn Stokes (Bionics Queensland), Denny Oetomo (Univ. Melbourne), Olivier Salvado (CSIRO), Leonie Mulheran (Lamson Concepts), Paul Carboon (MicroBio).

Thurs 9 April Services (inc. Construction) Nathan Kirchner (Laing O’Rourke), Nicci Roussow (Exaptec).

Thursday 23rd April Defence Jason Scholz (TASDCRC), Michael Gan (Air Force), Robin Smith (Army), Paul Hornsby (Navy), Dr Marcus Hellyer (Australian Strategic Policy Institute)

Thursday 30 April Infrastructure  Sarath Kodagoda (UTS), Nathan Kirchner (Laing O’Rourke), Tirthankar Bandyopadhyay (CSIRO)

Thursday 21st May  Agriculture Peyman Moghadam (CSIRO), Peter Brett (USQ), Mark Whitty (UNSW), Audrey Allaire (Corematic)

Friday 29th May Skills Jackie French (TAFEQld), Reza Ryan (TAFE Qld), Preethi Preethichandra (CQU), William Pagnon (Freelance Robotics)

Tuesday 2nd June Trust and Safety Kate Devitt (TASDCRC), Ellen Broad, Maia Gould (3Ai, ANU), Michelle Raghnaill, Seth Lazar (HMI, ANU)

Thursday 18th June Incident Response (Ian Manchester (ACFR USyd), Elliot Duff (CSIRO), Kathryn Sforcina (SingularityU Australia), Paulo de Souza (Griffith), Mary McGeoch (City West Water), David Cavanagh (Integrated Energy)

Wednesday 24th June Transport/ Mobility Paul Lucey (Project 412), Michael Milford (QUT), Brett Dale (MTAQ), Ian Christensen (iMOVE), Zoe Eather (Arup)
Wednesday 1st July Manufacturing Phil Crothers (Boeing), Saeid Nahavandi (Deakin), Dana Kulic (Monash University), Cori Stewart (ARM Hub).

Thursday 9th July Space  Ross Dungavell (CSIRO), Jonathon Ralston (CSIRO), Mark Micire (Woodside), Liz Pearce (ASA)

Thursday 23rd July Environment

Dr Sue Keay (Data61, CSIRO), Matt Dunbabin (QUT), Stefan Williams (USyd), Andreas Marouchos (CSIRO)



Subscribe to our News via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe and receive notifications of new posts by email.