Skip to main content


QUOCKA Survey Policies

The QUOCKA Survey is pursued under the following policies:


The QUOCKA Survey is being carried out by an international team of experts in the areas of radio astronomy and polarimetry. To apply for QUOCKA membership, simply send an email to the project PI, George Heald, as described in the membership policy linked above.

Leadership Team

  • George Heald (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)
  • Craig Anderson (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)
  • Joseph Callingham (ASTRON, Netherlands)
  • Naomi McClure-Griffiths (Australia National University, Australia)

QUOCKA Team Members

  • Emma Alexander (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Aritra Basu (Max Planck Inst. für Radioastronomie, Germany)
  • Shea Brown (University of Iowa, United States)
  • Ettore Carretti (Istituto di Radioastronomia, Italy)
  • Evan Crawford (University of Western Sydney, Australia)
  • Jamie Farnes (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Miroslav Filipovic (University of Western Sydney, Australia)
  • Bryan Gaensler (University of Toronto, Canada)
  • Tim Galvin (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)
  • Lisa Harvey-Smith (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)
  • Melanie Johnston-Hollitt (Curtin University, Australia)
  • Jane Kaczmarek (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)
  • Tom Landecker (Dominion Radio Astrophysical Observatory, Canada)
  • Paddy Leahy (Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics, UK)
  • Emil Lenc (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)
  • Sui Ann Mao (Max Planck Inst. für Radioastronomie, Germany)
  • Yoshimitsu Miyashita (Kumamoto University)
  • Shane O’Sullivan (University of Hamburg, Germany)
  • Alice Pasetto (Universidad Nacional Automa de Mexico, Mexico)
  • Philippa Patterson (University of Western Australia, Australia)
  • Cormac Purcell (Macquarie University, Australia)
  • Chris Riseley (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)
  • Lawrence Rudnick (University of Minnesota, United States)
  • Dominic Schnitzeler (Max Planck Inst. für Radioastronomie, Germany)
  • Charlotte Sobey (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)
  • Xiaohui Sun (Yunnan University, China)
  • Alec Thomson (The Australian National University, Australia)
  • Jennifer West (University of Toronto, Canada)
  • Xiang Zhang (CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science)

Some of our team members have found their way to Rottnest Island to capture a quokka selfie!